Daniel Hagen

Development of my free-piston linear alternator
Simplified free-piston alternator
To start with free-piston engines, those with only one movig part are easier to build and control- knowing that a serial engine would be an inherently balanced opposed piston engine. The following movie shows the principle of a simplified free-piston linear alternator.

Now from Robert Huber, I learned that the running characteristic of such engines is completely different than that of crankshaft-bound motors. The piston acceleration is substantially higher, and the timing can not be compared with conventional two stroke engines. 

Therefore, the use of commercially available two-stroke engine cylinders was out of the question due to the predetermined engine timing, that is incorrect for the foreseen use in a free-piston engine. Furthermore, cross-flow scavenged engines have no future due to emission related reasons. 

In addition, it was much of interest to me to examine the so-called Stelzer Engine more closely. Since the early 80's, one read frequently about this engine- but rather about cheated investors, than about a breakthrough in this so-called "revolutionary technology". The engine should now be analyzed from a strictly technical point of view. 

As I visited Frank Stelzer, I expected clarification about this obsolete engine and its inventor. Unfortunately, Frank Stelzer turned out to be a hobbyist. His engines revealed no technological breakthrough or at least any progress through all the years, it all seemed very improvised and amateurish. Frank Stelzer had rarely an engine on hand that he could start or demonstrate right away, although he worked with this engine for decades. Those who knew him personally, know what I mean: He was not of this world. 
1:1 cutaway model of a Stelzer engine
1:1 cutaway model of a Stelzer engine
1:1 cutaway model of a Stelzer engine

Intake and exhaust ports are strikingly small. The engine is over square, even if the center rod is subtracted from the piston surface.

1:1 cutaway model of a Stelzer engine
1:1 cutaway model of a Stelzer engine
1:1 cutaway model of a Stelzer engine


Extremely remarkable: The doughnut-shaped combustion chamber, and the uniflow scavenging system. 


1:1 cutaway model of a Stelzer engine
1:1 cutaway model of a Stelzer engine

The engine in its original state is a fluid dynamic nightmare. The number of edges and bottlenecks is overwhelming. Due to the short stroke and poor gas exchange, a sufficient combustion pressure is difficult to achieve. As a consequence, the pistons often collide with the cylinder head.

One thing was clearly visible: If the engine just ran the way it was designed by its inventor, then it would be good for nothing.

The question was:

Does the engine have sufficient potential for optimization, or not.


Stelzer engine
Apart from the inevitable vibrations, the aspect of the uniflow scavenging weighs on many disadvantages of this engine design.
Instead of building a "conventional" double-acting free-piston engine using e.g. chainsaw cylinders, the more challenging task was to investigate this remarkably engine to reveal its potential, and to test an optimized version - and finally, to integrate a linear alternator in an advanced third stage.
D. Hagen, 1st engine
D. Hagen, 1st engine
First engine 

This is the first self-built engine. The gas exchange was fundamentally revised. Spark ignition is controlled through an adjustable light barrier. A striking feature of free-piston engines is the almost immediate throttle response, like a racing engine. The engine also stands several misfires, without stopping.
Linear alternator principle
Linear alternator principle
Parallel to the first prototype, I worked on a linear alternator that I wanted to integrate into a second but completely redesigned engine.

Many specialists struggle with the transformation of a circular into a linear motion that has variable reversal points - the same phenomenon in electrical machinery, as well as in combustion engines. This situation forced me to deal intensively with the entire matter, so that I could assess the value and feasibility of any proposals and arguments around linear alternators. I finally decided to go for my own (not published) design.
Starting procedure
Starting procedure
Linear alternators had already been sufficiently calculated in theory. I focused on the the starting procedure, respectively how should the linear alternator be designed so that it generates sufficient electromagnetic power to start the internal combustion engine.

The starter energy is, however, not strong enough to achieve the necessary compression at once Because the starter has no transmission gear as in a conventional crank engine. 

Therefore, starting of a free-piston engine means to swing-up the engine piston(s) taking advantage of the kinetic energy and the air cushions. In contrary, one can assume that a properly designed solenoid works well as an electric power generator.

1:1 cutaway model of a Stelzer engine
1:1 cutaway model of a Stelzer engine

Now a significant advantage of this engine turned out- at least for experimental setups:

The the pistons are freely accessible from the outside. Therefore, determination of the outer position of the same is very simple.


D. Hagen, 2nd engine
D. Hagen, 2nd engine

Care was taken to a low operating temperature of the generator. Located in the engine center has the advantage to use the heat transfer from the center to the engine's outside.

The engine cylinders are shown schematically only. They were completely redesigned for improved fluid dynamics.


Proof of Concept
  1. An engine design has been selected that has evolutionary potential and is relatively easy to build.

  2. Great attention was paid to use an engine that works with uniflow scavenging, due to emission related reasons.

  3. Aspects of balancing oscillating masses were excluded, as finally an opposed piston engine will be used.

  4. A linear alternator was developed, which - as a solenoid - had the necessary power to start the engine, while taking account of size and weight.

  5. A strategy had been developed to ensure a reliably starting procedure

  6. The individual elements were merged into a newly designed engine and the achievement of objectives has been verified.

  7. The project was privately funded.
The result of the work

The engine has a displacement of 2 x 15 ccm, it runs at 160Hz. The linear alternator generates 15 or 30 VDC through bridge rectifiers. The compression ratio is 1:24.
Proof of Concept Prototype
The mentioned compression ratio of 1:24 sounds amazing for a gasoline-powered engine. But due to the absence of a crankshaft and therefore an enormous piston acceleration, substantially higher compression ratios are ​​possible. The combustion is ignited rather early. At maximum frequency, disconnection of the electronic ignition leads to auto-ignition (HCCI) of the highly compressed fuel/air mixture. As the piston stroke is not bound, a stable and knock-free running results at a very high compression ratio.

The above-mentioned high piston acceleration avoids excessive heat loss through the cylinder walls. These factors mainly cause the very high efficiency of the free-piston engines. But - due to the high piston acceleration - a long-stroke engine design is required.

Daniel Hagen

Die Entwicklung meines Freikolben- Generators
Vereinfachter Lineargenerator
Für den Anfang sind Freikolbenmotoren mit nur einem beweglichen Teil einfacher zu beherrschen- im Wissen, dass die Serienversion ein masseneutraler Gegenkolbenmotor sein wird. Der folgende Film zeigt das Prinzip eines vereinfachten Freikolben-Lineargenerators.

Robert Huber lehrte, dass die Laufcharakteristik dieser Motoren völlig anders ist, als diejenige von kurbelwellengebundenen Motoren. Die Kolbenbeschleunigung ist wesentlich höher, die Steuerzeiten können nicht mit konventionellen Motoren verglichen werden.

Daher kam die Verwendung von handelsüblichen Zweitakt- Motorenzylindern wegen den vorgegebenen, suboptimalen Steuerzeiten nicht in Frage. Ausserdem haben Motoren mit Querstromspülung aus abgastechnischen Gründen keine Zukunft.

Danebst reizte es mich sehr, den sogenannten Stelzermotor näher zu betrachten. Seit den frühen achtziger Jahren las man regelmässig von diesem Motor, aber er machte eher wegen betrogenen Investoren Schlagzeilen, denn wegen der revolutionären Technik. Der Motor sollte nun aus rein technischer Sicht analysiert werden.

Ein Besuch bei Frank Stelzer sollte Klarheit über das Motorensystem und dessen Erfinder schaffen. Leider erwies sich Frank Stelzer nicht als genialer Motorenkonstrukteur. Die von ihm gebauten Motoren hatten über all die Jahre keine Entwicklung durchgemacht, alles wirkte sehr improvisiert und amateurhaft. Frank hatte selten einen Motor zur Hand, den er auf Anhieb starten bzw. demonstrieren konnte, obwohl er sich jahrzehntelang mit diesem Motor beschäftigte. Wer ihn persönlich kannte weiss, was ich meine: Er war nicht von dieser Welt.

1:1 Schnittmodell eines Stelzermotors
1:1 Schnittmodell eines Stelzermotors
1:1 Schnittmodell eines Stelzermotors

Der Motor hat auffällig kleine Ein- und Auslassbohrungen. Er ist überquadratisch, auch wenn man die Kolbenstange von der Kolbenfläche wegrechnet.

1:1 Schnittmodell eines Stelzermotors
1:1 Schnittmodell eines Stelzermotors
1:1 Schnittmodell eines Stelzermotors

Sehr bemerkenswert: Die ringförmige Brennkammer und die Gleichstromspülung.

1:1 Schnittmodell eines Stelzermotors
1:1 Schnittmodell eines Stelzermotors
Das Original ist ein strömungstechnischer Alptraum. Die Anzahl an Kanten und Engpässen ist überwältigend. Durch den kurzen Hub und den schlechten Gaswechsel kann kaum ein ausreichender Verbrennungsdruck aufgebaut werden. Als Folge schlagen die Kolben oft am Zylinderkopf auf.

Eines war klar: Wenn der Motor nur so läuft, wie ihn sein Erfinder konstruierte, dann war er für nichts zu gebrauchen.

Die Frage war also:

Kann der Motor signifikant optimiert werden, oder nicht.

Stelzermotor
Stelzermotor
Wenn man von den zwangsläufigen Vibrationen absieht, wiegt der Aspekt der Gleichstromspülung viele Nachteile dieses Motorendesigns auf.
D. Hagen, erster Motor
D. Hagen, erster Motor
Erster Motor

Der erste selbstgebaute Motor, dessen Gaswechsel gegenüber dem Original fundamental überarbeitet wurde. Der Motor verfügt über eine verstellbare Zündung mit Lichtschranke.

​Auffallend an Freikolbenmotoren ist das fast verzögerungsfreie Ansprechen aufs "Gaspedal", ähnlich einem Rennmotor. Der Motor erträgt auch mehrere Zündaussetzer, ohne zu stoppen.

Lineargenerator
Lineargenerator
Parallel zum ersten Prototypen arbeitete ich an einem Lineargenerator.
Diesen wollte ich in einen zweiten, nochmals komplett überarbeiteten Motor integrieren.

Viele angefragte Spezialisten bekundeten Mühe damit, eine kreisrunde in eine lineare Bewegung umzugestalten. Noch dazu, wenn die Umkehrpunkte der Linearbewegung variabel sind. Dieser Umstand zwang mich dazu, mich selbst intensiv mit der Materie auseinander zu setzen, um die Vorschläge und Argumente rund um Lineargeneratoren bewerten zu können. Ich entschied mich schliesslich für ein eigenes (nicht publiziertes) Design, welches ich in der kleinsten technisch sinnvollen Grösse umsetzen wollte.
Startstrategie
Startstrategie
Lineargeneratoren sind in der Theorie schon hinlänglich berechnet worden. Mein Fokus galt daher dem Startvorgang, bzw. wie soll der Generator ausgelegt werden, sodass er hinreichend Kraft erzeugt, um den Verbrennungsmotor zu starten. Die Anlassenergie reicht mangels Getriebeübersetzung nicht, um die notwendige Verdichtung direkt zu erreichen.

Einen Freikolbenmotor zu starten bedeutet also, den/die Kolben aufzuschaukeln unter Ausnützung der kinetischen Energie und der entstehenden Luftpolster. Umgekehrt kann man davon ausgehen, dass ein korrekt ausgelegter Elektromagnet auch als Generator funktioniert.

1:1 Schnittmodell eines Stelzermotors
1:1 Schnittmodell eines Stelzermotors
Nun zeigte sich ein grosser Vorteil dieses Motors- zumindest für Versuchsaufbauten:

Die aussen frei zugänglichen Kolben ermöglichen es, auf einfachste Weise die äussere Position derselben zu bestimmen.

D. Hagen, 2. Motor
D. Hagen, 2. Motor
Grosser Wert wurde gelegt auf eine niedrige Betriebstemperatur des Generators. Mit dem mittigen Einbau konnte der Wärmetransport vom Zentrum nach aussen genutzt werden.

Die Motorzylinder sind nur schematisch dargestellt, sie wurden strömungstechnisch komplett überarbeitet.

Proof of Concept

  1. Es wurde ein Motorensystem ausgewählt, das Entwicklungspotential aufweist und relativ einfach zu bauen ist.

  2. Aus abgastechnischen Gründen wurde darauf geachtet, ein System zu verwenden, das mit Gleichstromspülung arbeitet.

  3. Aspekte der Massenneutralität wurden bewusst ausgeklammert, da letztendlich ein Gegenkolbenmotor verwendet werden sollte.

  4. Es wurde ein Lineargenerator entwickelt, der - als Elektromagnet angesteuert - die notwendige Kraft entwickelt, um den Motor starten zu können unter Berücksichtigung von Baugrösse und Gewicht.

  5. Es wurde eine Strategie entwickelt, um den Motor zuverlässig zu starten.

  6. Die einzelnen Elemente wurden in einer neu konstruierten Maschine zusammengefasst und die Zielerreichung wurde überprüft.
  7. Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt wurde das gesamte Projekt ausschliesslich privat finanziert.
Das Resultat der Arbeit

Der Motor hat 2 x 15 ccm Hubraum. Er schwingt mit 160Hz. Der Lineargenerator erzeugt via Brückengleichrichter 15 oder 30 V Gleichstrom. Das Verdichtungsverhältnis ist 1:24.
Proof of Concept Prototyp
Die Verdichtung 1:24 bei einem benzinbetriebenen Motor klingt atemberaubend. Dank der fehlenden Kurbelwelle und der dadurch enormen Kolbenbeschleunigung sind aber noch wesentlich höhere Werte möglich.
Das Gemisch wird relativ früh gezündet. Bei maximaler Frequenz führt die Abschaltung der elektronischen Zündung dazu, dass sich das sehr stark komprimierte Benzin/Luftgemisch selbst entzündet. Da der Kolbenweg nicht gebunden ist, ergibt sich ein klopffreier, stabiler Lauf bei sehr hoher Verdichtung.

Die eingangs erwähnte, sehr hohe Kolben-Anfangsbeschleunigung vermeidet übermässige Wärmeverluste über die Zylinderwände. Diese Faktoren ermöglichen erst den sehr hohen Wirkungsgrad der Freikolbenmotoren, setzen aber wegen der hohen Kolbenbeschleunigung einen Langhuber voraus.